Liz Prato

VOLCANOES, PALM TREES, & PRIVILEGE BABY'S ON FIRE STORIES & ESSAYS TEACHING & PRESENTING DEVELOPMENTAL EDITING READINGS & EVENTS ABOUT & CONTACT

 

"For fans of Sarah Vowell and Kaui Hart Hemmings, Liz Prato's essay collection is a must-read."

     —Kristiana Kahakauwila, author of This Is Paradise

 

Forthcoming from

Overcup Press

April 16, 2019

Pre-order your signed copy!

 
VOLCANOES, PALM TREES,
& PRIVILEGE:
Essays on Hawai‘i

Advance Praise

 

“Liz Prato’s profound meditations on place dislocate and then relocate understandings of Hawaiʻi from the point of view of the non-native visitor. This book is a love letter to the land and people of Hawaiʻi, with a keen awareness that some people must let their story of this place go. Breathtaking."
     —Lidia Yuknavitch, author of The Chronology of Water and Book of Joan
 
"Volcanoes, Palm Trees, and Privilege is not only a breezy and appealing primer on how to negotiate both Hawai’i in all its astonishing variety and the enormous advantages and nagging burdens of privilege; it’s also a moving memoir about familial loss and the reconstitution of an essential version of the self.   Liz Prato is beautifully smart about how disempowerment works, and how to combat it."         
     —Jim Shepard, author of The Book of Aron, and The Tunnel at the End of the Light
 
"For fans of Sarah Vowell and Kaui Hart Hemmings, Liz Prato's essay collection is a must-read that explores the islands’ mythos and reality. In Volcanoes, Palm Trees, and Privilege we witness a deeply personal tale of love, loss, and honest accounting as the author comes to understand her relationship with the islands through the crucible of family.”  
     —Kristiana Kahakauwila,
author of This Is Paradise
 
“A brilliant meditation on cheeseburgers in paradise, Liz Prato’s fearless and tender investigation of our complex relationship with Hawai‘i will blow your mind. Hula dancers, aloha shirts, surfing, and the idyllic tropical vacation will never look the same. It’s a reckoning whose time is long overdue.”             —Karen Karbo, author of In Praise of Difficult Women, and the Kick-Ass Women series

 

 

copyright 2018 Liz Prato